Caster angles???

Spaniard

Caster angles???

Post by Spaniard » Wed Oct 06, 2021 8:55 pm

I recently started playing around with caster angles and was surprised that my caster was at 0 deg according to the level on my mobile phone.

I was reading on another post about adjusting the caster with shims. I have a Type 3 with the standard non adjustable upper A-arms. The only shims I could see are the washers that are next to the poly bushings. One on each side of the bushing/ 4 per a-arm. I ended up grinding back part of the upper A-arm mount so I had room for some shims to be able to shift the a-arm back thus tilting the upright back.

After doing this I have 2deg of caster and the handling is much much better. It still doesn’t have the 5 deg it should have according to the numbers I have been reading. How are you guys adjusting caster ? Are the large shims by the bushings the ones you are using to adjust caster or did you have additional shims in place that you could move around.

I think I could do the same to the lower A-arm but shift it forward to increase the caster to about 4deg. I think I need a more accurate way to measure the caster and will look into that first.

Any thoughts from you guys?

Weg

Re: Caster angles???

Post by Weg » Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:11 am

When I originally built, I used the adjustable top wishbone which was fine with the original shockers.
I've since upgraded to the comfort spec which involved slightly longer shockers and modified bottom wishbone.
I have shimmed out with washers to give me 5deg.
Evident on the picture that it could do with a modified top wishbone which I believe is available from Al.

With 0deg caster, yours must have handled like a blind pig.
Just sayin!
Attachments
IMG_0890a.jpg
IMG_0889a.jpg

Spaniard

Post by Spaniard » Thu Oct 07, 2021 1:55 pm