Triking Propshaft

felixgogo

Triking Propshaft

Post by felixgogo » Sun May 26, 2019 3:57 am

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here, still in my pre decision basis, I was seriously thinking about a M3W, but after a lot of reading on the internet about reliability and engine balance, I have started to look much more seriously at a Triking.

On to my question, I did look around but couldn't find this. On the Morgan, I understand there is a Centra coupling from the gearbox to a bevel box then a drive belt to the rear wheel. This allows the drive to go straight through the car and then side step to the rear wheel.

On an Ace cyclecar, there is a Honda drive shaft, which runs through the cabin at an angle, forcing the seats to be different sizes, and a big reason why Morgan changed the design for the UK market.

I understand the Triking uses the Moto Guzzi driveshaft, but how is this kept 'straight' through the car? It needs to end up at the side of the rear wheel. I also assume the drive shaft has to be lengthened from its motorbike arrangement?

Sorry - 2 questions! Thanks in advance!

Weg

Re: Triking Propshaft

Post by Weg » Sun May 26, 2019 8:36 am

Welcome to The Forum Felix.
Good choice of kit as you can tailor your build to fit you.
The Triking, using the Guzzi engine, gearbox and final bevel box, has an offset propsaft from gearbox to bevel box. The rear wheel is set about 20mm to the left.
This means that with rhd the driver has a bit less room than the passenger.
You can get a ‘good sized’ adult in that space, who is held in place, giving the ultimate driving experience.
With lhd you can have an even bigger driver but just a ‘good sized’ passenger.
Perhaps you can choose which side in Hong Kong.

You can have a long propshaft without reverse gear, or fit the reversing gearbox halfway back with 2 shorter shafts. Puts the cost up but well worth fitting.
Tony

Richard and Pat

Post by Richard and Pat » Sun May 26, 2019 10:03 am

Welcome Felix,